Robert Daniel Prize in Expository Writing

The Daniel Essay Prize is open to any first year students whose essay is nominated by a faculty member. Faculty members may nominate one essay from each course open to first year students.

Guerry Award for English

The Guerry Award for English was established by former Vice Chancellor Alexander Guerry who served the University from 1938 - 1948.

Andrew Nelson Lytle Award

Awarded annually to a graduating senior for academic excellence. Preference will be given to students who have demonstrated knowledge and appreciated of the literature and history of the American south.

Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize

The Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize is awarded to a student for outstanding poetry submitted to The Mountain Goat, the student literary magazine.