This year, our Haines Lecturer will be the poet Natasha Trethewey. She will deliver the 29th Haines Lecture on October 25, 2022 at 4:30 PM, in Convocation Hall. It will also be livestreamed on the Sewanee English and Creative Writing Department's YouTube Channel


Natasha Trethewey served two terms as the 19th Poet Laureate of the United States (2012-2014). She is the author of five collections of poetry, Monument (2018), which was longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award; Thrall (2012); Native Guard (2006), for which she was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, Bellocq’s Ophelia (2002); and Domestic Work (2000), which was selected by Rita Dove as the winner of the inaugural Cave Canem Poetry Prize for the best first book by an African American poet and won both the 2001 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Book Prize and the 2001 Lillian Smith Award for Poetry. She is also the author of the memoir Memorial Drive (2020). Her book of nonfiction, Beyond Katrina: A Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, appeared in 2010. She is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, the Beinecke Library at Yale, and the Bunting Fellowship Program of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard. At Northwestern University she is a Board of Trustees Professor of English in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. In 2012 she was named Poet Laureate of the State of Mississippi and in 2013 she was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

History of the Haines Lecture

Behind the quiet mien of Stacy Haines lived a great enthusiasm for language, ideas, and the of the mind - an enthusiasm he joyfully shared with his wife Peggy.

Having discovered Sewanee through their son, who was graduated in 1966 with a major in English, Stacy and Peggy moved here when he retired from a career with Sears, Roebuck & Company in Chicago. From the time of their arrival in this community, their home became a place of hospitality for aspiring and accomplished readers and writers.

This series of lectures and readings, funded permanently by gifts in Stacy's memory from his family and friends, and administered by the College Department of English, stands as a natural and proper extension of the man and his interests.

Stacy Allen Haines
1919 - 1983

Haines Lecturers, Poets, and Writers

2022 - Natasha Trethewey

2021 - Alice McDermott

2018 - Wendy Wall

2017 - Marilyn Nelson

2016 - Danielle Evans

2015 - John Lahr

2014 - Charles Martin

2013 - Jay Parini

2010 - J. Paul Hunter

2009 - Anthony Esolen

2008 - Ann Patchett

2007 - Marjorie Garber

2006 - Geoffrey Wolff

2006 - Andrew Delbanco

2005 - Lawrence Lipking

2004 - James Wood

2002 - Barry Hannah

2001 - Andrew Hudgins

2000 - Paul Muldoon

1999 - Robert Pinsky

1998 - Denis Donoghue

1997 - Madison Jones

1996 - Sir Frank Kermode

1993 - X. J. Kennedy

1990 - Tim O'Brien

1989 - Robert Pack

1988 - Arthur Kinney

1988 - Alan Cheuse

1986 - Anthony Evan Hecht