The University of the South is governed by the Board of Trustees, most of whom are elected from the 28 constituent dioceses, and the Board of Regents, which acts as the executive board of the Trustees. Its chief executive officer is the Vice-Chancellor and President. The Chancellor, elected from among the bishops of the constituent dioceses, serves as the Chair of the Board of Trustees and, together with the Vice-Chancellor, is a member of the Board of Regents, ex-officio.

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is composed of individuals from each of the 28 constituent dioceses of the Protestant Episcopal Church. Individuals from the associated alumni, faculties, staff, the student bodies, as well as trustees at-large are also elected as representatives. The Board of Trustees elects and appoints a Board of Regents, a Chancellor, a Vice-Chancellor, and a Chaplain to serve the University and governs matters related to the Charter, the Constitution, and the University Domain.

The Board of Regents

The Board of Regents consists of twenty-four members, fifteen of whom are elected by the Board of Trustees. The Regents of the University establish, maintain, and govern the University in all ways other than those powers that are expressly reserved for the Board of Trustees.

Trustees Resources

Current Trustees - Log in to access Board resources.

Contact Information
Jay Fisher, C'79, Secretary of the University & Secretary to the Board of Trustees
931-224-3090 | jafisher@sewanee.edu
Casey A. Perkins, T'22, Assistant Director of Trustee & Church Relations
931-598-1316 | trustee@sewanee.edu