The University of the South is governed by the Board of Trustees, most of whom are elected from the 28 constituent dioceses, and the Board of Regents, which acts as the executive board of the Trustees. Its chief executive officer is the Vice-Chancellor and President. The Chancellor, elected from among the bishops of the constituent dioceses, serves as the Chair of the Board of Trustees and, together with the Vice-Chancellor, is a member of the Board of Regents, ex-officio.

The Founding of the University of the South

Concerned by the failure of the Episcopal Church to establish a successful institution of higher learning within the southern states, ten Episcopal dioceses agreed in 1856 to cooperate in creating a single university. Responding to their bishops’ invitation, clergy and lay delegates from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas met at Lookout Mountain near Chattanooga, Tennessee, on July 4, 1857, to name the first board of trustees.

Board Member Resources

Secure Trustee Resources

Current Trustees - Log in to access Board resources.

Submit a Certificate of Trustee Election

Constituent Dioceses of the University - use this form to inform the office of Trustee & Church Relations of your Trustee election results.