You have discovered something has been stolen.
You will need to call the Sewanee Police Department at ext. 1111 or 931-598-1111 to request an officer to meet with you to file a theft report. Be sure that you have a description of the item that was stolen (make, model, color, other identifying marks, sticker's, etc...), a serial number of the item, and a photograph of the item if you have one.
You may receive a follow up visit from an investigator with the Sewanee Police Department pertaining to information of the crime or property. Please be as cooperative with the investigator and understand that investigations take time and could take weeks or months to complete a thorough investigation based upon the complexity of your case.
You have been involved in a motor vehicle crash.
You will need to call the Sewanee Police Department at ext. 1111 or 931-598-1111 if it is a non-injury accident. If it is an injury accident you need to call 911 if your phone is registered locally through your carrier with the E911 system, if not dial 931-598-1111, to request medical and police assistance immediately. Tennessee State Law requires that any accident occurring with damages over $50.00 be reported immediately to local law enforcement (TCA 55-10-106).
If you have been involved in a more serious crash resulting in over $400.00 in damage and/or personal injury to any party you must report the accident immediately to local law enforcement (TCA 55-10-107).
To avoid injury in a crash Tennessee State law requires that all occupants of a motor vehicle over the age of 4 to be secured by a seatbelt (TCA 55-9-603).
You have been issued a student citation
If you have been issued a student citation please refer to the Conduct Process with the Dean of Students Office.
You have been issued a misdemeanor citation.
If you have been issued a misdemeanor citation in lieu of arrest you will need to listen to the instructions given by the officer and ensure to follow through with each step. The officer will instruct you that you to turn yourself in to the Franklin County Jail for booking. Your signature on the misdemeanor citation is your surety to appear in court as well as to be booked. If you fail to be booked or fail to appear in court a warrant will be issued for your arrest and you will be required to post a bond or appear in front of a judge (TCA 39-16-609). To better understand the arrest and judicial process Misdemeanor Arrest Flow Chart has been created to guide you through the steps.
You have been arrested and charged with a felony.
If you have been arrested and charged with a felony you will be required to post a bond and then follow through the judicial process. You can view a chart of the judicial process Felony Arrest Flow Chart.