The Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (CDEI) serves as the advisory and recommending body to the Vice Provost of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion/Chief Diversity Officer. The CDEI will work closely with the Vice-Provost to develop, implement, and monitor Sewanee's diversity, equity, and inclusion strategic plan, and to support the University’s efforts to cultivate an inclusive community; one that provides opportunity for all and that deeply values the worth and contributions of each member in order to achieve social cohesion. We wish to be able to live together with mutual commitment toward achieving EQB.

Committee members
  • Sibby Anderson-Thompkins, Vice Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (chair)
  • Jim Crawford, Professor of Theatre and Dance
  • Rachel Fredericks, Director of Multicultural Affairs
  • Peter Gray, University Chaplain
  • Nicky Hamilton, Chief of Staff
  • Deborah M. Jackson, Associate Dean for Community Life
  • Karen Proctor, Special Assistant to the Vice-Chancellor
  • Erica Rozolsky, T'23, Student at the School of Theology
  • Betsy Sandlin, Associate Dean of the College for Inclusion and Faculty Development
  • David Stark, Instructor, School of Theology
  • Yanbing Tan, Assistant Professor of Chinese
  • Moses Vincent, C'25, Student at the College
  • Jessica Welch, Human Resources
University News
hiring of a Chief Diversity Officer

The University's search for a Vice Provost of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion to lead and coordinate our efforts has successfully concluded with the hiring of Dr. Sibby Anderson-Thompkins