Department and program chairs typically rotate on a five year basis. 
Chairs of departments play significant roles in:
  • The promotion and tenure process
  • The development of annual budgets
  • Organizing the annual schedule of courses
  • Staffing
  • All other leadership roles in departments

Chairs and Directors meet several times a year as a group chaired by the Dean of the College.

Department Chairs & Academic Program Directors 2020 - 2021

American Studies:  Woody Register

Anthropology:  Richard Allan O'Connor

Art, Art History, & Visual Studies:  Jeffrey Thompson

Asian Studies:  Scott Howard Wilson

Biochemistry:  Bethel Sharma Seballos

Biology:  Alyssa R. Summers (Advent) & Elise Kikis (Advent & Easter)

Business:  Eric Zinn

Chemistry:  Deon T. Miles

Classics:  Chris McDonough

Computer Science:  Lucia Dale

Earth & Environmental Systems:  Martin Knoll

Economics:  Marc St-Pierre

English:  Jennifer D. Michael

French & French Studies:  Aymeric Glacet

German & German Studies:  Liesl Allingham

History:  Nicholas Roberts

Integrated Program in the Environment:  Deborah McGrath

Interdisciplinary Humanities:  Jeffrey Thompson

International & Global Studies:  Shana Minkin

Italian:  (see Spanish & Italian)

Mathematics:  Matthew Rudd

Medieval Studies:  Susan J. Ridyard

Music:  Stephen Miller

Neuroscience:  Helen Bateman

Philosophy:  Chris Conn

Physics & Astronomy:  Benito T. Szapiro

Politics:  Andrea C. Hatcher

Psychology:  C. Albert Bardi

Religious Studies:  Eric Thurman

Rhetoric:  Sean Patrick O'Rourke

Russian:  Mark Preslar

Spanish & Italian:  Manuel Chinchilla

Teacher Education:  Betsy Sandlin, Acting

Theatre & Dance:  Jennifer Matthews (Advent) & James Crawford (Easter)

Women & Gender Studies:  Andrea Mansker