Reunion Postponed

New Date is APRIL 21-24, 2022

After thoughtful consideration and discussion with our fellow 50th reunion committee members, we are writing today to inform you of the decision to postpone our reunion celebration until April 21-24, 2022. With the COVID-Delta situation and all the uncertainty surrounding safety of travel and the need to be masked at indoor events on campus, we think it makes more sense to delay the celebration a bit. In April, hopefully the pandemic situation will be much improved, the weather will be delightful and we can enjoy a Spring weekend together on the Mountain.

So, please mark your calendars NOW for April 21 -24, 2022. For the 19 classmates who have registered, your registration fees will be refunded.

Staying in Touch with us and others

To make sure you receive communications about this reunion, update your contact information by clicking here. Also, Sewanee has lost touch with 30 members of the Class of 1971. If you know someone on this list, use the update form to provide us any good contact info you have. 

CLASS PROJECT

We will announce fundraising progress on Our 50th Reunion Project, The Class of 1971 Endowed Scholarship, which is especially appropriate now as scholarship/financial aid is a top university priority. 

Current Status of Class Project:  $137,381 raised in gifts and pledges with 10% of class members participating.

For over 20 years, 50th reunion classes at Sewanee have been raising funds for a special class project in honor of their 50th reunions. From brick and mortar projects (Class of ’69 Wellness Commons) to endowed funds (Class of ’70 Endowed Internship Fund and Endowment Fund for the Career Center), classes raise funds via outright gifts (including stock gifts and IRA distributions), 5 year pledges and planned gifts to support the class project. 

To make your pledge to the Class of ’71 50th Reunion Project and Class Gift, click HERE.

If you would like a paper version of the commitment form, you may download a pdf by clicking HERE.

Accommodations

For Accommodation information, go to https://new.sewanee.edu/alumni/accommodations/ and to get info about staying at the Sewanee Inn, contact Susan Askew at saskew@sewanee.edu

CLASS COMMITTEE 
  • Rob Crichton, Co-Chair  crichtonr@bellsouth.net
  • Jack Steinmeyer, Co-Chair steinmeyerj68@gmail.com
  • Jim Harmon  jimharmon@hotmail.com
  • Orrin Harrison  oharrisoniii@gmail.com
  • Luis Leon  revluisleondc@gmail.com
  • Cissy Lewis  lanaleelewis@gmail.com
  • Randy Love  rlove@awpi.biz
  • Boyd Parker b.parker313@icloud.com
  • Pete Stringer  wastringer@gmail.com
  • David Thames  davidcbthames@gmail.com
  • Tim Toler  tmtoler8@aol.com