

Awards and Prizes for Advent Convocation Friday, October 6, 2023

ANNOUNCEMENT OF AWARDS AND PRIZES

Bain-Swiggett Prize—for poetry
Sarah Frances Womack of Alabama

Clayton Lee Burwell Scholarship—for excellence in Asian Studies
Nevena Carter of Alabama

Joseph D. Cushman Scholarship—for excellence in History

Rebecca Gayle Cole of Alabama Calley Grace Doyle of Florida Keith Stewart Miller, Jr. of Alabama

Mary Susan Cushman Scholarship—for integrity, academic distinction, extracurricular achievement, and contributions to the life of the University

Olivia Caroline Jones of Tennessee

Robert Woodham Daniel Prize—for expository writing Sarah Frances Womack of Alabama

Davis Family Scholarship—for leadership and community service Silas Sabado McClung of Tennessee

Robert P. Davis Memorial Scholarship—for the outstanding senior who is interested in medicine or business who exemplifies integrity, leadership, and loyalty

Grace Eve Pettis of Louisiana

Arthur B. Dugan Memorial Prize—for the outstanding junior major in Political Science

Molly Kathleen Jirgal of Illinois

Silas Sabado McClung of Tennessee

Adri Elle Silva of Tennessee

First-Year Chemistry Achievement Award—in recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement in Chemistry

during the freshman year

Arthur Jacob Bennett of Tennessee

Grace Margaret Byron of Georgia

First-Year Prize—for the sophomore who completed the first year at Sewanee with the highest academic average

Alexis Virginia Barbee of Georgia

Alexa Agnes Berg of Wisconsin

Utsav Bhandari of Nepal

Mary Webster Burke of Alabama

Sarah Grace Burns of Tennessee

Paul Andrew Coffield of Tennessee

Suzanne Katherine Cole of Alabama

London Calais Eller of Tennessee

Joan Louise Farley of Virginia

Louise McNair Ferguson of Texas

Audrey Elizabeth Francell of Texas

Mary Margaret Lemburg of Georgia

Samuel Joshua Leonard of Indiana

Katelyn Rose Massey of Mississippi

Kylene Jordan Monaghan of Virginia

Lili Pauló of Hungary

Jackson Alexander Riggs of Florida

Victoria Elizabeth Ryan of Tennessee

Ann Rose Steinfeld of Louisiana

Luka Nikolai Stojkovich of North Carolina

Sarah Frances Womack of Alabama

Rosalea Kimbrell Woodard of Mississippi

John M. Gessell Fellowship in Social Ethics

Keith Stewart Miller, Jr. of Alabama

Peter V. Guarisco Merit Award in Art and Art History

Qiyu Meng of China

Haven Sydney of Tennessee

Atlee Heber Hoff Memorial Scholarship—for attainment in Economics

Jacob Logan Herron of Tennessee

Atlee Henkel Hoff Memorial Scholarship—for attainment in Economics

Isabella Marie François of Missouri

Louis George Hoff Memorial Scholarship—for attainment in Chemistry

Channita Keuk of Cambodia

Robert Hooke Prize—for achievement in Calculus

Kylene Jordan Monaghan of Virginia

Robert Samuel Lancaster Scholarship—for attainment in Political Science

Lillian Coulter Holloway of Tennessee

Charles Pollard Marks Memorial Scholarship—for the outstanding junior man exemplifying integrity,

leadership, and scholarship

Moses Vincent III of Maryland

Isabel Caldwell Marks Memorial Scholarship—for the outstanding junior woman exemplifying integrity,

leadership, and scholarship

Lillian Coulter Holloway of Tennessee

Marks Merit Scholarship—for the entering freshman exhibiting outstanding academic achievement

Chloe Adair Strysick of Kentucky

Stephen Elliott Puckette II Award—for exceptional academic performance

Molly Allyse Almon of Tennessee

Mohamed Emad Abdelsalam of Egypt

Audrey Kathleen Hoffman of Tennessee

Jacob Tyler Michel of Kentucky

Adrena Catharine Walton of Georgia

William G. Seabold Scholar—for the outstanding junior who shows strong intellectual ability, originality of thought,

great intellectual curiosity, and the ability to master concepts in his or her field of study

Charlcya DeLoach Hall of Texas

Sandra P. & Richard B. Wilkens III Merit Scholarship in Physics

William Jacob Glover of Florida

Jada Mae Hardy of Tennessee

Woods Leadership Award

Stefen Erinel Rincon of Maryland