Distinguished Young Alumnus Award

The Distinguished  Young Alumnus Award ......Katharine Wilkinson, C'05

The Distinguished Young Alumni Award recognizes individuals who have graduated in the past 15 years, distinguished themselves in their vocation, and demonstrated concern for and service to their community. The award also seeks to recognize continuous dedication to and support of the University.  For a list of previous winners, see below.

Dr, Katharine Wilkinson, C'05, is an author, strategist, and teacher, working to heal the planet we call home. Her writings include The Drawdown Review (2020), the New York Times bestseller Drawdown (2017), and Between God & Green (2012), which The Boston Globe dubbed “a vitally important, even subversive, story.” Her forthcoming book is an anthology of writings by women climate leaders, co-edited with Dr. Ayana Elizabeth Johnson. (To be published in September 2020 by One World.)
​Dr. Wilkinson is a vice president at Project Drawdown, where she leads the organization’s editorial, creative, and communication work on climate solutions. She makes frequent media appearances and speaks widely, including at National Geographic, Skoll World Forum, and the United Nations. Her TED Talk on climate and gender equality has more than 1.8 million views, and she collaborates with Mary Robinson and others to advance the feminist climate renaissance. She serves on the boards of the Doc Society, Chattahoochee Now, and Wild Ark and advises for numerous climate-related initiatives.
In 2019 Time magazine named Dr. Wilkinson one of 15 “women who will save the world,” and Planned Parenthood Southeast honored her as a “Legend in the Making.” 
At Sewanee, Katharine majored in Religion, was initiated into Phi Beta Kappa, a member of the Theta Kappa Phi sorority, and was a member of the Equestrian team.  She was her class valedictorian and she won the Leroy Environmental Service award and was named Outstanding senior female athlete.  She is Sewanee's 25th Rhodes Scholar.
The Distinguished  Young Alumnus Award

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

1994        Jett M. Jay Fisher Jr., C’79

1995        Sue DeWalt, C’80

1996        Matthew Costello, C’84

1997        Not Awarded

1998        Not Awarded

1999        Michael K. Farr, C’84

2000       Jay A. Faires, C’85

Laurie Jarrett Rogers, C’85

2001        Don Pearson, C’86

Read Carson Van de Water, C’86

2002       John J. Falconetti, C’89

2003       Jon Meacham, C’91

2004       Courtenay Budd Caramico, C’90

2005       David A. Dye, C’90

2006       Clarke N. Hogan, C’91

2007       Rebecca Miller Spicer, C’93

2008       Jason William Forrester, C’93

2009       William C. Weaver IV, C’94

2010        David C. Mason, C’95

2011        Kristen Morrissey Thiede, C’98

2012        Max Angerholzer, C’00

2013        Rayid Ghani, C’99

2014        Lydia Fenet, C’99

2015        Jennifer Bulkeley Staats, C’00

2016        Newell Smith Harbin, C’06

2017        Jamie Greenawalt, C’03

2018        Britton Buckner, C’03
2019 Rosilyn Rayborn, C'04