Distinguished Faculty/Staff Award

Distinguished Faculty Staff Award................................................. Julie Berebitsky

This is the highest honor awarded a faculty or staff member by the Associated Alumni. It is given to a member of the faculty or staff who has demonstrated leadership and a sincere interest in the future well-being of the students of the University and has been supportive of the Associated Alumni.

Professor Julie Berebitsky has been a member of Sewanee’s faculty for almost 25 years. Dr. Berebitsky is a professor of history and creator of the women’s and gender studies (WGS)  program. She earned her B.A. at the University of California, Davis, her M.A. in Women's Studies at George Washington University and her Ph.D. in History at Temple University. She offers courses in United States history, specializing in women's history.  Professor Berebitsky was also on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Social History.

She has published 'Like' Our Very Own: Adoption and the Changing Culture of Motherhood, 1851-1950 (Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 2001) and contributed to a number of anthologies on adoption. Her work on popular representations of adoption received the Wise-Susman Prize of the American Studies Association. She also has served as a consultant for the Hopewell-Furnace National Historic Site and has worked as a researcher for The Papers of Frederick Law Olmsted (Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press).

Professor Berebitsky’s other book, Sex and the Office: A History of Gender, Power and Desire (Yale University Press) is the first monograph to historicize our understanding of sexual harassment in the J. Berebitsky book coverworkplace. Sex and the Office explores how Americans’ attitudes toward sexuality and gender in the office have changed since the 1860s, when women first took jobs as clerks in the U.S. Treasury office. The book uses archival sources to unearth the actual experiences of female and male office workers and also explores how popular sources—including cartoons, advertisements, advice guides, and a wide array of fictional accounts—have represented wanted and unwelcome romantic and sexual advances. This range of evidence and the study’s long scope expose both notable transformations and startling continuities in the interplay of gender, power and desire at work over the last century and a half.  Professor Berebitsky has also published an article on this topic, “The Joy of Work: Helen Gurley Brown, Gender, and Sexuality in the White-Collar Office,” in the Journal of the History of Sexuality.

Professor Berebitsky has published pieces on sexual harassment in Forbes, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the Huffington Post.

In 2013, Professor Berebitsky was awarded an NEH (National Endowment for the Humanities) Summer  Stipend Grant for a scholarly project, "Republican Feminists: Between Party Loyalty and Women's Rights." Berebitsky studied that summer at the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.

Women of Sewanee, an independent group of alumni, faculty, staff and community members, announced its first fundraising success at a recent Homecoming Weekend: a $20,000 fund for portraits of women scholars and mentors at the University.

The group launched its fundraiser in early October to honor history professor Julie Berebitsky, recently retired chair of Women and Gender Studies. Berebitsky’s portrait will be the first commissioned with a permanent fund named in her honor. 

At a Friday reception celebrating Berebitksy’s career, WoS members revealed that more than 200 alumni, students, faculty and staff and community members gave from $3 to $2,000. The group doubled its initial goal, allowing for a permanent portrait fund. 

Berebitsky will retire this academic year.  She lives in Sewanee, with her husband Dr. Woody Register.

Distinguished Faculty/Staff Award

1996 Brinley J. Rhys
1997 Gilbert F. Gilchrist, C’49
1998 J. Horace Moore Jr.
1999 Gerald L. Smith
2000 William T. Cocke III, C’51
2001 Robert Wesley Pearigen, C’76
2002 William Brown Patterson, C’52
2003 Charles M. Binnicker, C’50
2004 Robert Keele, C’56
2005 Eric W. Naylor, C’58
2006 Paul E. Engsberg
2007 Laurence R. Alvarez, C’59
2008 Thomas Macnab Carlson, C’63
2009 J. Douglas Seiters, C’65
2010 Robert Benson
2011 John Bordley and Timothy Keith-Lucas
2012 William Clarkson
2013 Dale Richardson and Leslie Richardson
2014 Barclay Ward
2015 Fred Croom and John Reishman
2016 Robbe Delcamp and Charles Perry
2017 George Poe
2018 Yasmeen Mohiuddin
2019 Bran Potter



Watch video